top of page
Search

An (outside the box) Cover Letter

Since I learned my job offer was rescinded due to the COVID-19 crisis, I’ve been job searching non-stop. About four weeks ago, I came across an HR job listing that didn’t have a specific job description. I was curious and went along. At a certain point, they stated: “It’s about you. We don’t want to put you in a box. We want you to break it.”


This is how I did so.



June 2020


Dear Hiring Manager,


This morning, I came across this job ad [...] at [...] and felt immediately compelled to check it out. To my surprise, while reading the job description to write my cover letter, this caught my attention: “It’s about you. We don’t want to put you in a box. We want you to break it.”


I do want to break it, so here it goes.


In a traditional cover letter, I’d start by talking about the 9+ years of experience I have acquired while working in multiple HR disciplines in 3 countries. I’d talk about the leadership positions I have held and the size of my staff at the time. I’d also mention how many degrees I have, and how many skills I’d check the boxes for. I’d go on discussing how my most recent master’s degree shaped my ideas in new areas of organizational development and behavioral science, and how much I’ve accomplished at my last internship, which led to a job offer for a full-time position.


This cover letter is different, though. I’d like to share who I am outside of all the boxes and buzzwords. And I’d like to start by describing the strongest asset that I can offer to this position: the lessons I’ve learned from my recent life-changing experience.


A couple of years ago, I stepped into uncertainty when I moved from Brazil to the U.S. to begin a master’s program in quite a new field, in a city that I’ve never been before, and without knowing a single person there. At first, the culture shock and the heavy expectations of the program (along with my own) hit me hard. The once confident, positive, and energetic me turned into a ball of mess. I was learning everything at once: how to navigate in a new academic setting in a foreign country, how to transition between business and analytical thinking and psychological and behavioral science, and how to build relationships in a different culture with new norms, small talk, and biases. But what hit me hardest was (re)learning how to communicate and express myself in a second language. This was soul-changing.


I worked long hours every day, for weeks, non-stop. The process was harsh at times, but I knew I would be stronger for it. I had to be brave and push through the struggle each time, as I still do. After long months in this new life, I finally adapted to it. My brain wouldn’t get as exhausted as before, new habits became organic, and interactions came much more naturally. It was at this point I realized I had rediscovered my happy place, inside and out.


By mastering the setbacks and the emotional fights, I’ve grown into the person I am today. A strong woman, ready to create and lead with empathy. A proud immigrant, willing to persist and be brave. And a compassionate organizational psychologist, eager to listen and develop others. I’m proud of each one of them. Now, I’m looking for my next chapter. A chapter I can continue to give my everything to and be proud of.


That is what you can expect from me: more of the new ways, more of the uncomfortable, and more of the vulnerable. That is me, outside the box. I have the experience, skills, and education. But equally as important, I have the courage, the willingness, and the calling to do so.


(Very) Sincerely,


Aline Mello


Your story matters. Share it.


17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page